Pristine Darkness | 他来了请闭眼之暗粼

Pristine Darkness (Afterword)

Thank you for journeying with us on this translation project! Anks and I (shl) and the other translators have enjoyed giving you the opportunity to read Ding Mo’s work, although it wasn’t always a pleasant read – psychopathic killers and blood galore, anyone? 

4 items in this ‘Afterword’! Firstly, Ding Mo’s author’s note, then a note on how we felt working on this translation project from Clue (Translator), Anks (Editor), and shl (Translator). Please feel free to tell us how you felt about the novel, too! 

Do keep safe and well, everyone! May we next meet in happier times. 

Join us on Discord (link to the right) to discuss the novel or just to hang out.


Ding Mo’s Note

Everyone:

And so it ends. From now on, there will be no more stories about Bo Jinyan and Jian Yao, and no short stories will be written.

It is not easy to write a sequel, and it is even more difficult to write one in a different style. Up till today, there are still people asking why it is necessary to write a sequel to Close Your Eyes. However, in the course of writing, I became more and more convinced that Pristine Darkness had to be written. Just like a light-hearted arc needs the remaining heavier strokes to complete it, just like the reverse side of happiness and sweet love features tears that shock the spirit. If there’s no. 2, no. 1 becomes even more complete. Thus, Bo Jinyan and Jian Yao’s story and lives are now complete and well-rounded. This most probably has to do with me as the author; at different stages of writing, I have different demands on my writing. It’s just that the length of time between the two stories is somewhat long, it’s been 3 years since I finished writing Close Your Eyes 1. I wanted to continue the story to the greatest extent, yet also hoped that it would be an entirely different story. I have tried my best. You guys have had a tough time, too. I think that it’s difficult for many ‘younger sisters’ to have the plot line as the most important element of the story. After all, without delight, the crucial feature of ‘mutual teasing and provocation’ would also be lacking. However, the number of subscribers has remained steady; I thank you all for your deep love and support.

Winter is here. I’m sorry that this time of renewal has come so quickly, so I am not able to accompany you in passing the winter season. However, maybe a new story will come with the spring blossoms? Maybe, a story whose ‘adorable meter’ is off the charts? After all, I took almost a year to write Pristine Darkness with it’s dark plot, and I am almost unable to repress the stirrings of love that are threatening to burst forth within my heart —

Let me give you early wishes for a happy new year. We will meet again in 2017.

— from an evergreen tree in the Internet literary circle: Lao Hei Tu (lt. Old Black Earth 老黑土)

© MerakiTranslations tranzgeek.wordpress.com. This translation belongs to tranzgeek.wordpress.com. If you are not reading this from tranzgeek.wordpress.com then this has been posted without consent of the translator.

Clue’s Note

Ah this story has finally come to an end! It was fun helping out here and there with the TLC-ing and then with the translating. What an experience in translating some of the more gruesome scenes but also the medical and crime-show terms. Thank you so much to shl and Anks for translating and editing without fail for so many of the chapters and the hard work you have put in to it!!

Anks’ Note

Like it’s said ‘All good things come to an end”, this awesome story too has reached its finale but i am really not ready to let some things go. I absolutely loved this novel and now saying goodbye to these characters is particularly hard.

First of all, i am really gonna miss our Bo Jinyan’s acumen and quirky personality as well as Jian Yao’s warm persona. Also, the thrilling cases that constantly kept me on the edge of my seat and turning the pages(okay scrolling the screen) even faster, never knowing what would happen next. With the constant twists and turns, Ding Mo has this amazing ability to never be predictable. Too many times i had gasped with the plot twist and even had some jaw dropping moments.

Another thing i really like about Ding Mo novels is that she provides such amazing content on both ends of the spectrum. On one side, we have the worst kind of psycho criminals and gut wrenching situations with gory details (that i even had to step away from the novel a few times and read lots of fluff to balance it out), while on the other side, we have such romance to make us swoon, humor and awesome bromance.

However, one thing i just can’t get over is losing one of our favorite characters, Fu Ziyu! Why, just why? I had cried buckets after reading about his end. Still, i had held hope until the very end that by some MIRACLE he would make it back. But reading the last few chapters was really heartbreaking when even that last remaining shred of hope was dashed. He was rly a wonderful character. His loss felt just so personal.

After venting that out i want to wrap it up by saying i throughly enjoyed reading and working on this novel. Thank you dearest Shl for always being so patient and kind. You are the best of the best! Also, a big thank you to all our lovely readers for sharing this journey with us! Your comments and support really made it a wonderful ride. Love and warm hugs to all! Hope we get to share another Ding Mo story like this.

shl’s Note

I  confess, when I first joined this translation project I had just finished translating When a Snail Falls in Love, and I didn’t think I would find another pairing as unique as Xu Xu and Ji Bai. It also didn’t help that the beginning chapters of Pristine Darkness were so twisted and dark, and that I had not yet read Close Your Eyes, Here He Comes (Love Me if You Dare).

Gradually, I came to appreciate Bo Jinyan’s wit and dour humour, and Jian Yao’s steadfast  character and independence of thought. Of course, their bantering yet deeply loving relationship was a plus! Discovering Fang Qing and An Yan, as well as all the other interesting side characters, was also enthralling. As for Fu Ziyu . . . ah. I loved him at first meeting. But, I have to say, once Han Yumeng turned up, I knew that was it for him . . . (rule of thumb – if family member or lost love of a character turns up, he or she is not long for this world. I learnt this the hard way watching Top Gun with Tom Cruise (yes, I’m that old), when his partner ‘Goose’s’ wife appears. Go Google it!)

I realise from Ding Mo’s note that the author was worried readers might not appreciate the darker aspect of Pristine Darkness and its complicated plot, as compared to the more obvious relationship development of Close Your Eyes. I appreciated both elements! And I think Ding Mo threw in enough sweetness that those who wanted to see more of the BJY-JY relationship were placated.  And, of course, there was also Fang Qing and Jin Xiaozhe, as well as An Yan and Gu Fangfang. I’d rather not think about Fu Ziyu and Han Yumeng . . . I also appreciated how Ding Mo worked in the backstory of the antagonists, making it possible for readers to sympathise with, or at least feel pity for, some of the antagonists. In relation to that, I thought it interesting to consider how criminal psychologists like BJY are different from the psychopaths they pursue if they understand them so well. 

I have enjoyed translating this novel. I don’t know if I’d really want to translate another crime/ thriller novel again (yikes!), but this has been a great roller-coaster ride. Thanks to all translators and editors who have worked on this project – Geeky (who started this off), Clue, Ting, and Lid_d (translators), and Anks, Summer, Libramuse, Artemis, SantaCalculus, and Advy (editors). A big thanks to Clue, who jumped in when she could despite a difficult academic schedule, and especially to Anks, who edited faithfully despite the sleepness nights of new motherhood!

Of course, thank you, readers, for joining us on this journey! We hope to see you again soon ❤


[Previous Chapter] [Table of Contents]

8 thoughts on “Pristine Darkness (Afterword)”

  1. Guys, I can’t thank you enough for working so hard. Long ago, I only hoped for a little miracle to happen that maybe one day, someone would translate Pristine Darkness . You will never know how my heart skipped a beat when after translating When the Snail Falls in Love, you announced that you’ll be working on PD. You guys has given me one of the best gifts in my entire life, and that is to be able to read Ms DM’s stories. It has been a journey. I guess more than a year, right? :D. I may not know who you are but I will be forever thankful of you! Sending love from the Philippines!

    Like

    1. Hi, Soleil!

      Thank you for journeying with us all the way, and for all the encouraging comments you’ve left us – we really appreciate your kindness, and your comments (and the knowledge you were reading with us) helped to spur us on to complete this project 😎 Yes, I can’t believe it either, I think it’s been something like 2 and a half years????? Whew! Much love to you, too! I hope you’re keeping well where you are, and I hope we meet again on another project! Do you have any suggestions?

      Like

  2. Thank you translation team for your hard work and effort! As always your work is appreciated and it is an excellent translation. Good work!

    Ding Mo can really take her readers through a rollercoaster of emotions, from horrific, sad, sweet, hope, anguish, happiness and a lot more.

    Ding Mo’s stories really keep me on my toes trying to guess who the murderer is. Sometimes you can guess straight away and other times it takes a while.

    Like many of the other readers, i am also quite sad about Fu Ziyu. But i am glad the others got their happy ending. I was quite pissed when i thought Gu Fangfang was dead.

    I am not quite sure why one of the readers didn’t like the ending. I thought it was ok. It did seemed quite rushed but everything was tied up nicely so i am satisfied!

    Thanks again team and i look forward to your next translations!

    Like

    1. Hi, Jinx!

      We’re happy you found us and were able to enjoy the story 😎 I always marvel at Ding Mo’s writing, all the twists and turns, and the relationships – both romantic relationships and friendships. I especially appreciate her giving most of her ‘villains’ a backstory that helps us to understand them better, even if we don’t approve of them.

      My pet peeve in this story is Zhao Kun! What happened to him after all his suffering in the gang? And, of course, no one will forget Fu Ziyu.

      Thanks for joining us! We hope to see you again in better times 😎 Do you have any suggestions for our next project?

      Like

  3. Thank you for this lovely translation- loved the original story & loved this sequel with all the new characters and threads. Jyst felt so sad for Fu Ziyu and his tragic life. The sad fate of the Ai twins was also so unfair – but on the whole such a lovely story

    Like

    1. Hello, Tazin!

      My apologies for this delayed response. The PD team is glad that you liked this sequel, I hope you enjoyed it as much as we enjoyed working on it! Yes, I agree, many tragic deaths in this story, esp FZY. Ding Mo really created some memorable characters. I hope you’ll keep enjoying our translations of other stories 😎 Keep well, and stay safe.

      Like

  4. Whoa this is really the end. Ding Mo, big thanks and salute to you! For a writer to write with this kind of plot, is kind of brain-wrecking right lol. And those plot twists too…. Also based on what Ding Mo already said, there will be no sequel or even short stories for our favorite couples T_T Quite sad but I think this is for the best from the author. I will respect that! This story will be one of the most precious stories I’ve ever encountered in the internet by myself. And I’m planning to read more Ding Mo’s other works too~ Thanks again for you guys for translating this amazing story until its final chapter! Love you all!

    Like

  5. Thank you translation team for picking up this novel and not dropping it. And thanks for explanations, notes, and warnings.
    Kudos to all and to Ding Mo. You all rock! Million thanks!😊

    Like

Just one simple action can make our day!