Under the Dawn Redwood

Under the Dawn Redwood – Night 17

Night 17 – Li Shu Arrives

 

Li Shu stared up at the large plane in front of him, as intimidating as it was he felt his heart palpitating in excitement. He was returning home. His husband, Paul, a middle-aged like himself, stood at a rather impressive 193cm tall, completely dwarfing the much smaller Li Shu. Le Shu had a very youthful appearance, being no taller than 168cm, round cheeks and a bright smile on his face. He was persistent in taking care of himself, and thanks to his good genes and diet kept himself trim with nary a wrinkle to show for his real age of 39.

The larger Paul lifted up their bags and approached the loading tunnel, jerking his chin towards the lane when their seating section was called.

Will seat sections C through E please enter the plane. I repeat, sections C through E.

Li Shu held Paul’s free hand while they boarded, with Li Shu taking the window seat and Paul sitting like a barrier in the middle. A nervous a rather shy, similarly aged man sat next to Paul.

H-haha… G-going on a plane to China? Uh, F-for business or… uh pleasure?

The man tried to become friendly with the intimidating Paul, whose stern face was set in stone in a perpetual frown. Paul moved his sharp eyes to give a side glance at the smaller, pudgier, weaker man.

No reason.

R-right.

The man took a rag from his pocket and pet his face before settling himself into his chair. Paul returned his attention, which had been rudely taken from his target, back towards his smaller husband. Paul was a man of large build, his body trained from the years of street fighting as he was a rebellious child. He had done physical labor, such as road work, during his younger years to save up for college. He had a passion for business and as it was he’d finished a deal with a financial firm.

Paul nodded his head as he went over the numbers of the latest deal in his head, he’d had to squeeze the time in to come and support his husband, but it was worth it. He took his left hand and lightly squeezed Li Shu’s small palm.

Feeling the sensation of Paul holding his hand, Li Shu glanced over, smiling brightly.

“I’m excited to be going home.”

Li Shu lowered his head, his eyelashes fluttering while he remembered the wide streets and sparse buildings of his home town. It wasn’t very busy compared to a city, but it was comforting. It seemed everyone knew everyone else and that made his chest all the warmer.

“Are you?”

While Paul’s southern American accent was thick, the pronunciation of Mandarin was skilled. The burly red-headed man looked concernedly at his lover; it wasn’t like they were accepted back in Li Shu’s homeland and he worried greatly. The last time he had gone, Li Shu’s family cast Li Shu from the house, even tearing up Li Shu’s identification card with scissors. He was called horrible names and even hit once.

“Yes, I still have my friends who accept me. My family is just too old fashioned. I know that’s what you’re thinking about. You always get so angry for my sake.”

Li Shu pressed his hand to Paul’s bicep and gave a gentle squeeze.

“Thank you for taking time off to come with me, I know you’re busy.”

“I’m fine, business will always come in. Even if I miss a contract today, I can just pick up a new one tomorrow.”

“You’re trying to comfort me.”

Li Shu smirked, rolling his eyes.

“What if I told you no, that this husband was very capable?”

“I wouldn’t believe it.”

“How cruel.”

“You should get some sleep, Paul. I’ll stay up and watch the clouds when we get in the air.”

“Alright, Alright.”

======

Li Shu stretched his arms wide, his bones popping and muscles aching from the much-needed movement. He had sat on the plane for just over 12 hours and he was physically exhausted.

“Come with me.”

“Paul?”

Li Shu blinked, a silly blank look on his face.

“Where to?”

“I…” Paul scratched the back of his head foolishly. “I still have a hard time with the numbers.”

Paul felt rather foolish but he couldn’t honestly say he just wanted his husband near him at all times.

“You know how to count to two hundred in mandarin at the very least! So don’t give me that.”

Li Shu placed his hands on his hips and shook his head, grasping his husband’s wrist. He had to be careful here. He had even removed his wedding ring and placed it on his necklace.

“Let’s just go to the other plane terminal. We can’t be late, we still have to drive to Madaoxi after.”

“Yes, yes.”

Paul’s tanned cheeks burned a little. Jeez, this little husband of his.

======

Gang Cheng sat up from his bed. It was already five in the morning. He was tossing and turning the entire night, having been embarrassed and annoyed for most of it. He shifted his legs over the side of the mattress and slipped his feet inside of the fluffy slippers. His shirt had two buttons that had come undone, with a third halfway there. Fixing them he stepped into the bathroom to clean his face.

The water was cool as the fragrant suds cleaned away the hard nights’ presence, his hair dripping as he splashed himself. Gang Cheng pet his face dry with the hand towel, inhaling more good scents. It seems that they really re-did the whole room while he was away. Not a speck of dirt and even the bamboo paneling in the shower had been pulled up and cleaned and placed back. He was messing with the new soaps, shampoos, conditioners and various necessities in the bathroom when a knock came at his door.

Well, if it’s just Feng Mian she can let herself in, though I doubt it would be. It’s already so late, she should be sleeping– no, it’s early, isn’t it?

Gang Cheng shuffled his feet towards the door, letting out a large yawn as he saw who was waiting for him. He nearly choked, coughing hard as he stared at Li Shu and Paul Barron. What were they doing here?

“What– ShuShu!?”

“Surprise!”

The equally exhausted Li Shu stepped forward and wrapped his arms around Gang Cheng, giving him a hearty hug as his husband watched. Panicking, Gang Cheng lightly pushed Li Shu away.

“When did you get in? You look exhausted.”

“Just now, we heard from Song Men which courtyard you were staying at so we rushed over as soon as we got in town. Can we stay here with you? Pretty please?”

Li Shu bowed forward, both palms pressed flat against each other as if praying towards Gang Cheng.

“Yes, you should come inside.”

Moving to the side, Gang Cheng let the two men in, he even helped them carry in their luggage.

“I’ll call room service and request a cot- I’ll be sleeping on the cot, and you two can sleep on the bed.”

“You’re a life saver!”

Li Shu chuckled, heading into the bathroom himself. Gang Cheng watched quietly as Paul toddled after, not wanting to leave Li Shu alone at all.

What a clingy big guy, can’t even let Li Shu rest at all.

Gang Cheng mused as he helped sort out the belongings. He wondered how long they were going to stay, after all, as happy as he was going back to Beijing in not too long. He frowned, his laptop dinging with a message. He sat at the desk, some shampoo from Paul’s bag in his hand, and looked at his computer screen. As expected, it was Song Men.

SongSong: aiyo~
SongSong: has the big guy and little one arrived?
SongSong: QAQ don’t ignore me! hey! hey!
LittleGangBigCheng: Shut up, it is 5 in the morning. What are you doing up?
SongSong: su su watched some horror flick last night and had trouble sleeping
LittleGangBigCheng: I thought she liked horror flicks?
SongSong: no way! you’re thinking of xiaolingling
SongSong: ignore that! where is little shu shu?
LittleGangBigCheng: Taking a shower with Paul.
SongSong: [message deleted]
LittleGangBigCheng: What? Why did you delete what you just typed?
SongSong: i didn’t want beaten up!
SongSong: tell them hi for me
LittleGangBigCheng: Wait.
LittleGangBigCheng: … why did you guys watch a horror flick after coming home?
SongSong: she didn’t read the reviews well enough and got interested in the first few minutes.
SongSong: she wanted to watch it to the end despite crying the whole time. my poor su su! QAQ
LittleGangBigCheng: [message deleted]
SongSong: …
SongSong: WHAT!?
SongSong: that doesn’t sound like much but!!!
[User OldManPo has been invited, User LittleChu has been invited, User LiLiShuShu has been invited]
[User OldManPo has entered, User LittleChu has entered, User LiLiShuShu has declined]
OldManPo: It’s late! What do you want! (╬⓪益⓪)
LittleChu: Late! Late! It’s too early, you night owl! (; ・`д・´)
LittleChu: Why did you invite us? My morning shift starts in 30 minutes! I was trying to be with the wife!
OldManPo: What wife! You’re single!
LittleChu: Leave me to my dreams! (⌯˃̶᷄ ﹏ ˂̶᷄⌯)゚
LittleGangBigCheng: …
SongSong: listen! listen!
SongSong: feng mian made move on brother cheng!
LittleGangBigCheng: …
OldmanPo: …
LittleChu: …
SongSong: after he left my house last night, apparently she came over and gave him a peck on the lips! what a bold little girly!
LittleGangBigCheng: …
LittleChu: Aaahh!
OldManPo: …
[User LittleGangBigCheng left the chat room]

Gang Cheng rubbed the bridge of his nose, his cheeks flushed red. That idiot! He doesn’t have to add so many people to the chat– no, actually now he might even add his mother to the chat room. His facial expression sunk just as Li Shu and Paul entered the room, towels around their waists.

“Sorry, we forgot our clothes in here– what’s wrong with you, Brother Cheng?”

“I’m going to kill Song Men when I next see him.”

“What’d he do now? Tell everyone some deep dark secret of someone and invite you to the chat room?”

Li Shu laughed heartily as he turned and quickly dressed into his pajamas while Paul guarded him. As Paul got dressed Li Shu sat next to Gang Cheng and idly glanced at the still remaining chat log that was on the screen, the text input box empty and grayed out. As Li Shu read the chat the color drained from his face.

“Oh. Oh. I see.”

Li Shu nodded his head as he mechanically turned to look at Gang Cheng.

“Paul?”

“Yes?”

“Can you come with me in the morning to talk with brother Song? I need to give him a piece of my mind. He’s airing out Big Brother Cheng’s dirty laundry.”

“What kind?”

Paul grew curious as he wandered closer, his night clothes being an old jersey and boxers.

“Feng Mian kissed him apparently. Is that why you were up?”

“It… wasn’t much of a kiss. I was upset over Hui Yin and she hugged me to comfort me, then before I knew it her lips touched mine and she disappeared.”

Gang Cheng leaned forward and pressed the heel of his hands against his eyes, grunting unhappily.

“That stupid idiot.”

“Wow, Mian is brave. To kiss Big Brother Cheng like that. You should kiss her back and confess!”

Li Shu’s cheeks burst into a colorful rose tint, his eyes sparkling with glee.

“You should take this opportunity! It’s not every day she’ll be so forward like that. You should go to her and tell her ‘Baby, I love you. Marry me.‘”

Li Shu exaggerated, throwing a hand up against his forehead for flair.

“Not going to happen. Just because she kissed me doesn’t mean she likes me.”

“But-”

“I had- listen, I had a child and that didn’t mean my ex-wife loved me. So what about Feng Mian?”

“Are you- are you ok?”

“I guess, I guess I’m just scared. What if Feng Mian doesn’t like me?”

“She’s always liked you… probably. At least that’s what everyone else says.”

“I-” Gang Cheng’s expression soured and he sighed. “I forgot to call the front desk, give me a moment.”

Gang Cheng grabbed his cell phone and put on some outdoor shoes. Leaving the room he began to walk, palming the phone in his hand.

What should I do? What should I think? I know I like Feng Mian, and I’d like to think she likes me back but…

Gang Cheng pushed the heel of his hand against an eye again, letting out a frustrated growl. Why were emotions so difficult! He even slapped his face a few times, only feeling better when he arrived at the front desk 5 minutes from his room. The night watch was finally shifting over to the day clerk and he entered the building slowly.

“Mr. Gang, what can we do to help this early in the morning.”

The girls at the front desk did their best to not giggle at how Gang Cheng arrived in his cotton pajama’s, but as he’d raised a daughter he didn’t mind that much. He wasn’t in his underwear so there was nothing to be ashamed of.

“I’ll need an extra cot in my room. Also, I’d like to add 2 more guests to my quarters. I’ll be using one of the side rooms for them.”

“Oh? Alright, there will be an extra charge and-”

“Brother Cheng? You’re up rather early.”

Feng Mian walked out from one of the connected hallways, she was wearing her usual short sleeved shirt with the Inn Logo, as well as some comfortable jeans. Gang Cheng immediately felt his face roasting, surely red like a tomato.

“I- Uh, Ah- I…”

Gang Cheng stuttered stupidly, blinking as he looked at her. The short memory of her soft lips on his short-circuited his brain and his vision grew fuzzy.

“Brother Cheng?”

Hearing his name called again he shook his head and cleared his throat.

“Sorry, I’m fine. I- I just need an extra cot for the night and then a side room opened up.”

“Oh? Brother Song contacted and mentioned that Shu Shu was coming, but he didn’t say he’d arrived.”

“He arrived. He’s already showered but they need a place to sleep.”

“We can take a cot over there immediately and unlock the room sometime in the afternoon. You don’t look well, you should head back and rest.”

“I will- I… Thank you.”

Frantically Gang Cheng bowed towards the giggling clerks and the poised Feng Mian. He power walked all the way back to his room and stormed into the bathroom. He wasted no time stepping into the shower, fully clothed, just so that he could turn the water on the coldest setting and run it full blast all over his body.

Don’t think like that. Be cool. You’re already messing up. Just pretend that last night didn’t happen. You’re not in high school anymore, you big idiot. Even those young girls at the front desk were giggling at how stupid I looked. There’s no way Feng Mian can like me like that.

Feeling dissatisfied in how he handled himself, he waited until Li Shu alerted him that the cot arrived before exiting the shower.

Unfortunately, who welcomed him was exactly who he didn’t want to see.

“F-Feng Mian?”

 

Previous Chapter | Content Page | Next Chapter


Apparently, Gang Cheng is more silly than he thought. He’ll just have to realize he’s still immature when it comes to love. silly guy.

Edit: fixed my mistakes. also re-added the readmore line that got deleted when my computer tried to shut itself off.

Just one simple action can make our day!