Reviews

Roll that Review: Fiancée of the Wizard

Fiancee-of-the-Wizard

And that kind of man went towards me, and guess what he said? The first thing he said during a reunion after seven years. Even now I still remember clearly his expression and tone of voice.

“───── disappointingly, you really didn’t change at all “

It was this.

 

Hey Boueys and gooey’rls. Ok so, I actually did start planning this a week in advance. But now it’s like a week late. I SWEAR I started planning early this time, lol. But like, whatever, ya know? Anyway, here is the last Roll that review until Hiatus! As I said in the last Under the Dawn Redwood, there was a family emergency so I won’t be able to do anything for a while. If I can manage to write anything I won’t post those either and will stockpile and release them all at once. Thank you for your understanding!


Fiancee-of-the-WizardTitle: Fiancée of the Wizard/Mahoutsukai no Konyakusha (WN)

Author: Nakamura Shuri

Series: Mahoutsukai no Konyakusha (LN)

Rating: unrated as I have different opinions of both WN/LN

I who was reincarnated into a world of sword and magic. The revived Demon King, the Hero chosen by the holy sword─────in the middle of that unfolding common fantasy trope, the position bestowed upon me was to be the magician’s fiancée.


Wizard version Comparisons

 

Into the mind: When looking at the Light Novel and Web Novel versions I have to say it’s much like looking at a rough draft vs the finished version. The web novel gives more insight towards what the Author thinks, what the author feels about the characters, while the light novel broadens the subject. The conversations seem to all be from an outsiders point of view and less personal in the web novel version, with much more left to the reader’s imagination, while the light novel is more direct and a closer level of interaction between them.

I just really like how the differences let me see into the mind, so to speak, of the author. Get a feel for how the characters are growing not only for the readers but also for the author themselves.

 

Interactions: The interactions of the characters are more cut and dry in the web novel version. There’s less meat to the relationships and some parts don’t translate that well in comparison. Going from the light novel then web novel isn’t as good, as say, going from web novel to light novel. However, both versions are cute and both editions have their quirks. However, I do like the feeling of his return a little more in the web novel because of such a stark difference. I appreciate that.


Wizard Positives

 

The Return: I really enjoy how the return played out in the web novel. Because of the seemingly sparse interactions they had during their upbringing (in comparison to the light novel) their reunion was made all the sweeter, especially the chapters that were devoted to our male lead whom I will call EddyEddy’s chapters were, in my honest opinion, better than Filimina‘s, or Fii‘s. His really let you see how he felt, and, in some cases, how she truly felt since he saw how she looked from an outward position, and after the return is really where he shined. Maybe it was that the author had gotten a better grip on their writing style, or perhaps they had the middle far more thought out because it just read much nicer and was a little more in line with what I wanted. Of course, it’s not to say that I didn’t like Fii‘s part.

You can just tell the desire in Fii‘s heart at her ‘final’ chapter that we’ve seen before Eddy‘s part, how much she cared about him when she admitted that it could have been hallucinations. Imagine how badly you could want and desire someone to conjure up their images and believe it to be so, lack of sleep or not. It was only made sweeter when we got Eddy‘s point of view starting the next chapter. Naturally, we didn’t get all of his PoV for the main story but we got a lot of it.

 

Different: To me, the way the story was written feels more unique. Not sure exactly why but it feels more like its a 1st person recounting, like perhaps its Fii recalling her memories with some of Eddy on the side to her kids, or perhaps grandkids. Maybe even to a friend. It is just a pleasant thought, to imagine the two close enough to feel safe in recounting their love story to someone other than themselves.

 

EddyRather than Fii, I prefer EddyEddy is certainly a tsundere/standoffish male lead, however, through his side of the story, you can see he’s actually very considerate of Fii… it’s just that he has poor communicational skills. At the start you may think, huh, he seems a bit bizarre, why would Fii like him? Well, you can’t really see 100% of their conversations or their thoughts (even in the light novel version) but the author does at least let it get across that through little actions Eddy does treasure Fii in his own special way. It’s made only the more obvious when you read his segment. He thinks she’s pretty in her own right, thinks she’s a fragile girl. Thinks she’s too mature and even feels self-conscious about that, and feels joy whenever she shows a childish side.

It’s also a bit refreshing to see such a seemingly short romance between two characters. A tsundere male lead and a slightly luke-warm female lead. Obviously, Fii loves him, but she doesn’t always show it. She more or less seemingly tolerates him but he exists in her life and without him, there’s not much to it, the same is said for him.

 


Wizard Negatives

 

Un-balanced Descriptions: Well, the descriptions of Eddy are incredibly common, in fact, he’s the only person that you really get a feel for. Yes, others are described, however, the one who is described the most is without a doubt the unbelievably handsome Eddy. A perfectly sculpted face with morning glow/sunset eyes which are orange and purple, as well as his silky black hair. Meanwhile, I can’t even remember what Fii looks like. Sir LancetEddy‘s adoptive father, is also mentioned with how he looks with his unique hair color, the same is said for Wydnicolwho is Eddy‘s apprentice. Everyone else, I can’t even imagine what their hair color or eye color, or anything, is at this point. It’s like everyone else is ignored, even Fii.

 

Mental age?: The mental age of Fii is described to be at least in her 40’s-50’s at this point, maybe older, but it’s more like she’s regressed. I feel almost like her past life isn’t especially worth mentioning other than the added ‘Ghasp! She’s an isekai/transmigrator!‘, it’s only an added flavor. If anything I feel like there is a regression with her maturity which happens over time, but it’s not addressed. She’s just considered calm and more mature for her age. Now that she’ll be considered an adult, will she still be more mature for her age? I’m just not sure how to read Fii and her personality/emotional intelligence. Of course, I know its not fully the previous her, but rather the new her with some old her, but with how little the old her is referenced I don’t wholly understand why the old her was mentioned? She doesn’t use past knowledge and only uses it as a standard of “ah, this is very much rpg” or “I’m more mature because I previously lived a life“. Now, I won’t FULLY discount on this just yet, especially as there are such few chapters, but it’s just something that’s on my mind that I don’t particularly like.


Personal Impressions: 

I rather enjoyed the read, whichever one I enjoyed more, well… that’s hard. I enjoyed both equally. It was very fun to compare the two as well. It was fun and interesting. A different male lead from what I’m used to reading lately, plus it’s just charming to think of how they interact in both versions. One has more interactions, the other has more touching interactions because how often you do see them interact is that much more precious.

The names are difficult though, so I just kinda fudge them if it’s too complex for me. Like Eddy‘s real name. Filimina isn’t hard but just… long, lol. Of course, I don’t believe the brother had been named after he’d even been introduced either… poor Ferdinand… Ferdant? Fer…something….. I don’t know. Anyway, characters need more love, author!

Anywho, which one I’d read first if you read both would be web novel and then light novel. As for the light novel link…. well. I gave the web novel link! So that should satisfy you, right?

1 thought on “Roll that Review: Fiancée of the Wizard”

Just one simple action can make our day!