Reviews

Roll that Reviw: Duke’s Daughter that is Liable to Die and the Seven Nobles

dukes daughter who is liable to die and the seven nobles

It was an eruption of rainbow-colored light.

A flash of light that couldn’t be expressed was emitted by the Rainbow Strap, and I closed my eyes reflexively.

….

After a while, I felt the light settle behind my eyelids and I opened my eyes nervously.

Rainbows like wide ribbons surrounded me, centering on the shining crystal.

One, two, three……I counted as many as seven.

– Chapter 60, some omitted, taste the rainbow Erica

 

Hello, everyone! Sorry that Roll that Review is late this week! Very late! But some shuffling will have to be done with my current schedule. I’ll move Under the Dawn Redwood into the once a week slot, for sure, and switch Roll that Review to the TWICE a week slot. I will not have the liberty to read light novels for at least a few hours a day at least 3-4 times a week depending and I can’t shove off the responsibility I have during those days to read light novels or web novels. That being said, the reason why this is late this week is that it was my birthday on the 23rd and I got very, very lazy and didn’t read this novel seriously and missed the deadline. oops.


dukes daughter who is liable to die and the seven nobles

Title: Duke’s Daughter that is Liable to Die and the Seven Nobles

Author: Terasu Senoo

Series: Stand-alone

Rating: ★★★★★★ (6 of 10 stars)

On one spring evening when I was eight years old, I, Erica, Duke of Aurelia’s daughter, realized something.

Huh, I have gotten reincarnated into a fantasy world, haven’t I?

Moreover, it was the romance-fantasy girl game that had the reputation of being bloody, 『Liber Monstrorum ~Phantom Beasts and the Winter Princess~

The face reflected in the mirror was that of the villainess character of that game.

After repeatedly harassing many characters, including the heroine, she would die without exception, signaling the beginning of an event called the bizarre incident. She was a villain who deserved to get the consequences!

—I absolutely don’t want a destiny like that, though?

No, for me who has remembered the memory of my previous life, there would be no such thing.

In my previous life, I was harassed immensely by an irrationally angry yandere man who proclaimed ‘She is absolutely in love with me.’

My cause of death, too, was from being stabbed by another yandere man who I only had talked with a few times……

Now that I have become the haughty villainess Erica, I shouldn’t encounter more misunderstandings like with the previous life’s yandere men anymore, right……?

In that case, it will be fine as long as I deal with the death flags that I may have raised myself.

All right! First of all, before the bizarre incident begins at the Magic Academy, I will strike down the death flags accordingly!!

—Or so I thought, but it seems that I am about to die.

Eeh, how did this happen—!?


Erica Aurelia Positives:

 

World building: World building, one of my favorite things. While this world is built on prior existing knowledge of our world, it is expanded upon while still being moderately loyal to our own understanding. It takes segments from different societies and morphs it into their own. It also uses various gods and goddesses, crafting them into the various allies or villains of the series.

The topic of magic is also interesting as it takes our known understanding of mages or alchemists and establishes them in a way that we don’t have too much difficulty in understanding it, granted it takes about 60 chapters until we get to that point.

I just think that the care taken in for this world is very good and gives you enough to go by to really immerse yourself into it.

 

Power Balancing: For being the main character, Erica Aurelia actually is rather balanced. While she has the almost unheard of, if not the highest rarity, constitution for an Alchemist, she is also bogged down by equal punishment. She is capable of turning nearly any spell inside of a wand into a highly dangerous weapon beyond reasonable limits, yet she herself cannot make those wands or virtually anything else an alchemist is supposed to excel at for the sake that it would take so long to the point of ridiculousness. In laymen terms, her ability to use a wand is set at maximum, while her ability to craft them is put on 0, making it an impossibility to do within reason.

Thankfully, just before we learned of Erica’s obscenely powerful offense and defense with wands, the previous chapter was dedicated to one of the other characters, Harold III Nibelheim, who is the opposite spectrum. He himself has 0 offensive or defensive powers with wands, yet he can craft wands to the point of ridiculousness.

Harold‘s talent in crafting wands is one to where he can take barely any time at all in charging or crafting wands. The first scene where we witness his skill is when Erica and Harold work together to stop the destruction of Knot Reed, where Harold crafted together at least 2 wands and charged it with 1000 charges. A few wands that had approximately 100 charge limit were merged together and in 40-50 minutes he charged them up with 1000 charges. Erica had used the wand, saved the town and truly opened up her path to using wands to their limits, being able to take down Abyss sea monsters almost single-handedly.

 

Maturity: This is one of the first novels that I’ve read where children act like children despite still being nobility. As a child of a nobleman I am under the firm impression that, as they have been raised since young to shoulder the same responsibilities of their parents, or to shoulder their house they marry into, a noble child would be mature. This holds true in this novel, at least going by how I’m reading into the characters. Yes, they are immature, but they do have their own little adult tendencies which are endearing. It’s like they, as young as they are, are trying to become good heirs for their family. Sometimes when you read about children in novels they are mature, even when they are not the protagonist, to the point where it’s ridiculous. Especially if it’s a child of someone of more ‘common’ status.

Heirs, in my opinion, can be quite bratty but should have some maturity as they will take over their parent’s livelihoods or be the standard for their house when marrying into another one. A more common individual would be more relaxed, perhaps have some structure, but not to the point where they are able to handle some situations that would be too much for an unprepared child.

But I also hate when a transmigrated or reincarnated individual acts beyond their years and people gloss over that too or have knowledge that far surpasses their peers. At least it’s mentioned by Eduart in his inner monologue when observing his sister, but he pins that on his mother teaching her things when she was little as they mention that if things are mentioned enough as children it is possible for them to remember it later.

 

Quality: You can tell that there’s definitely some attempt at making it easier to digest the information as the translator makes footnotes and explains the lore that is necessary for the story. Such as relevant legends or myths. It’s very fun learning as you read and see how the worlds differ or blend together.

There are also a few mistakes that are obvious and jump out to me. Granted they are there, but they aren’t to the point it’s too frustrating.

 

Relationships (part 1): I like how everyone interacts with each other and that everything has a cause and effect. Erica tries to prevent Ann from seeing the necklace but Klause sees the necklace which still ends up bringing Ann and Klause into the ‘ultra dangerous ruins’. In turn, since all 3 went to the basement Klause, Ann, and Erica managed to subdue Zaratan who becomes a familiar to Erica. As Erica has a familiar, when she goes to meet Auguste during the festival she has more available to her, giving her a wider scope of observation and someone to bounce ideas back and forth with. Since she has Zaratan (now named Tirnanog) she is also armed with someone who can protect her if she needs it. Later, after she plays riddles with the prince Auguste‘s phantom beast/angel, she acquires another beast at her side, though both are weakened. Having two friends in high places as the opposite gender as well as 2 ancient beasts, Erica endeavors to do better for her next death flag. Everything stays moderately close to the storyline she was vaguely used to from playing the game, yet it’s also different in that the individuals who are supposed to be ‘dark and oppressed’ are not. Very cute.

 

Imagery: As I’ve said before, I love the imagery in stories. If there’s good imagery I can place myself in that world’s shoes and fully envelope my mental scape to that of the world. They do a good job of trying to picture the outfits and environment. The Author is very good and the translator tries their best to carry the same environment to English.

 


Erica Aurelia Negatives

 

Relationships (part 2): I know, I know…. Palug and Tirnanog have their backstories and reasonings described and outlined in the chapters, but… Tirnanog spent like 600 years with his anger and disgust towards Erica‘s ancestors.  SIX HUNDRED YEARS, ok? That’s a long time to hold a grudge. Unless he’s an absolute saint I feel like he switched too fast. Yes, Erica didn’t kill him when she had the chance when she got his remains. Yes, Zaratan did almost kill her. YesErica‘s ancestor, the one who created Zaratan didn’t betray him… but that’s 600 years, ok? Six hundred. That’s a very long time to hold a grudge and then happen to be quite content with Erica to the point of being her underling. That’s Main Character Syndrome I guess.

Palug I don’t mind as much but still. I am only letting this one go because as Erica is her new contract since she (Palug) got beaten in a riddle game, has to remain close. If she wasn’t the contract beast and STILL went I’d be salty.

 

huh… that’s the only hang up I actually have. Other than that I genuinely enjoyed it. Go figure.


Personal Impression:

Ok so, I genuinely enjoyed it. The characters were all very lively, the idea of her crushing death flags was nothing too novel, but the way she tried to plan as the time went on, as it’s the storyline to a game, was interesting. Granted it was the classic ‘If I, the main character, am there, my targets are too’ happened quite often, it wasn’t hamfisted.

Certainly, she was looking for the other ‘capture targets’ for the true main character for the video game, but often she bumped into them. She was a bit dense, though, not to where I got mad.

It will be growing in complexity as the story continues and it’s no longer Erica Aurelia, Tirnanog, Palug, Ernst Aurelia, Eduart Aurelia, Klause and Ann Hafan, August Ignitia or Harold III Nibelhiem for the ‘main cast’. I look forward to the continuation.


AS I SAID AT THE TOP, I WILL BE SWITCHING ROLL THAT REVIEW TO A BI-MONTHLY EVENT AS I WILL BE HAVING REAL LIFE RESPONSIBILITIES. I WILL BE CHANGING ‘UNDER THE DAWN REDWOOD, TO THE CURRENT TIME OF ONCE A WEEK. ALL CHANGES WILL BE IN EFFECT NEXT WEEK.

Just one simple action can make our day!