Reviews

Roll that Review: Genius Doctor: Black Belly Miss

Genius Doctor Black Belly Miss.PNG

Ning Xin used Charm on Long Qi. 
Long Qi avoided the attack. 
Ning Xin used Charm on Long Qi. 
Attack missed. 
Ning Xin became confused. 
Ning Xin hurt itself in its confusion.

My comment on chapter 485

Heyo! TokyoRoll back again this week with 1227 chapters read of Genius Doctor: Black Belly Miss. It’s true, she’s pretty rough around the edges and has a thicker face than all get out. Someone from the Meraki discord suggested this one and at first, I was wary because I remembered trying to read another book this author had written and it didn’t automatically pull me in. However, this one was a pleasant surprise…. translation not so much. Shorthand will be BBM.


Genius Doctor Black Belly Miss

Title: Genius Doctor: Black Belly Miss

Author: North Night

Series: 2 Shared Universe: Unprecedented Pill Refiner: Entitled Ninth Young Lady, The Good for Nothing Seventh Young Lady. 1 Shared Franchise: Rebirth of the Strongest Female Emperor

Rating: ★★★ (3 1/2 of 10 stars)

She was a peerless genius in the 24th Century – all she needed was a silver needle and she could practically bring anyone back from the dead.

After an explosion, she crossed over into a strange world; everyone calls her “Miss.” The previous “Miss” before had no contractual spirit, was weak and incompetent, and even the fiancé comes over with a new love and bullies her?

Now that she has taken over, who dares to act so presumptuously around her? With needles in hand, the world is for her to own! Wherever she goes, miracles follow! However, she saved a pest. What was she thinking when she saved that man. His stunning demeanor and impeccable face is a huge contrast to his cruel actions. He tries all ways to win her over.

This is an interesting crossover story with some magic, romance and a black-bellied miss as the main character.


BBM Positives

 

Vocabulary: I feel like sometimes I’ve learned a new word! Like I learned that decadent isn’t actually a good thing. Decadent or decadence is essentially about ‘excessive self-indulgent‘ means. I thought it just meant it was way fancier but that’s just the ‘new age’ connotation of it. I also learned of the (non-mathematical) Exponent. However, I don’t know if the use of this word is in the least proper. I’m still iffy on that point.

 

Quick Revenge: Unlike a few novels, she doesn’t beat around the bush. She slaps around those who wrong her and she doesn’t do it carelessly. In order to reduce those who deal with her, she methodically reduces those who surround her enemies and buries them in logic battles. Of course, as she has plot armor sometimes it’s super obvious that she’ll be the one who rules the roost in the end, you just don’t always know how she does it.

 

OP but not ‘too‘ OP: While she has the cheat to increase her ‘cultivation level’ faster than everyone else, Jun Wu Xie isn’t so OP that there’s no setback.  First of all, she can’t break through unless she ‘eats/absorbs‘ another ring spirit. If she doesn’t do that then she can’t exceed her current rank. How does she do that? Jun Wu Yao.

She’s smart, almost too smart, but she’s not so smart that what she says sounds like it’s coming out of her butt all the time, just sometimes. She doesn’t go completely out of the understandings of modern people and she doesn’t know about everything in a way that can infuriate a reader. I think a lot of her ‘intelligence’ is hidden, leaving it more open-ended for the reader. At least that’s my take on it. The only time I saw her talking completely out of the era of her current body was when she was fixing the spirit healing technique… well… usually from what I remember haha.

 

Character: So, the main character’s cold, anti-social (for the most part) and clever. She’s also incredibly smart. It does have a bit of a classic ‘once Jun Wu/Jun Wu Xie arrives other characters are as dumb as a box of rocks’ in that a lot of people can’t put 2 and 2 together to realize Jun Xie is Jun Wu Xie. Her character generally remains the same, though she changes reasonably. I like how they are rather fluid and have mostly their own personalities and interact well with each other. My current favorite character is probably Ye Sha and then its Ye Mei.

Jun Wu Yao so far is an enigma for me but oh well! By chapter 1227 I’ll be danged if I can bother with a male lead who comes and goes like the wind. He’s heard more vicariously than he is as an actual present character.

 


BBM Negatives

 

Translation/Author: Oh my god. Character genders are changed so often that they matter as well be gender fluid. Sometimes the same character, especially Jun Wu Xie are described using both female and male pronouns. The character names are also switched around to the point where it’s infuriating. It’s often enough to where I got absolutely livid (╬⓪益⓪)That being said there are plenty of words that are improperly spelled, improperly used, incorrect tenses, more commas than even I use. Also, there are at least a few (that I can identify), run on sentences that last a whole paragraph. I just….. while I learned new words from this translation, or actually bothered to look them up, I still can’t give it the score I was originally wanting to give it just because of this one negative point.

 

Memory: Now, my own memory isn’t that bad. I can roughly remember the plot of a book I read literally 13 years ago (The book is Sabriel by Garth Nix and I read it when I was 13, so that’s like half my life ago, among a few other books of his), plus a number of other stories but for the life of me, once an arc ends it vanishes from my brain. I can barely remember what went on during the arcs after I finish them unless something particularly engaging or infuriating or sad happens. The first arc???? Yeah, uh…. was that whole arc the one where she was de-throning the Qi Kingdom’s emperor and putting up MQY? (≖ლ≖๑ )フ

Yeah, I don’t know. Might be, might not be. Heck, I don’t even know how many arcs passed by in the story. I read 1000+ chapters and I retained nary a thing. Well, at least not as much as I should since I liked it so much… which is actually a lot. This is also another point that took off a bit of a score for it. (੭ ˘•ω•˘)੭

 

Character names: So… in line with the whole translation thing… Character names can somewhat be considered way beyond me. Like, it’s super helpful when I see comments going “Who is MQF again?” and they go “oh, that’s the guy who got poisoned and she cured.” and I go “Oh! (ฅ⁍̴̀◊⁍̴́)و ̑̑” Because I completely forgot who he was and I was with half the other comments thinking he was MQY. Mo Qian Yuan, the prince of Qi kingdom that is. The character names also are switched around and misspelled frequently. More often than not you’ll have a name like Bai Yun Xian (or some other character’s name) in place of another character. It’s just a tad annoying. Ok, it’s actually the most annoying.

 

On and on and on…: Sometimes, in my opinion, arcs go on way longer than what their ending pays out to be. I know that she’s building up relationships with people and that she’s being a ‘good’ person but… During the Thousand Beasts City arc the ending felt so anti-climatic. It was all that build up about how ruthless and strong Qu Xin Rui was. Yet, what I was given was Jun Wu Yao utterly smashing everyone’s face with OP moves that left no excitement. It spent SO LONG only to end with 3 people being killed with a couple moves of his hand and one person being ‘critically injured‘ and writhing on the floor…

I know she was waiting to find the locations of those who were imprisoned, but the author could have shortened some of the arc or made the battle something worth anything. Yeah yeah, super sad because Qu Ling Yue got raped… but, I dunno. I just don’t feel like that arc was very good. THE WAR ARC THO, the Qi Kingdom War arc where she goes in and saves everyone. Tears. Greatness. Also short and sweet compared to thousand beasts city.

 

R-Romance?: How can you really fall in love for a guy, that although nice, comes and goes as he likes? Ok, I admit. He’s handsome, strong, smart… but he’s way more than just a simple ‘mysterious‘. Jun Wu Xie doesn’t ask much about Jun Wu Yao and if she did then that would be interesting. If I were someone like Jun Wu Yao though, I wouldn’t merely fall for someone like he did. He dubbed her ‘interesting’ and decided to ‘pay her back’ for saving him… but I don’t see where he can legitimately fall for her since after she leaves Qi Kingdom it’s almost exclusively as her male identity Jun Xie and he rarely sees her… ever. He gains intel on her through Ye Sha but… that’s about it. He’s not seen for tens, if not hundreds of chapters at a time, stays for about 30 then screws off to god knows where. He’s more or less only thought of in passing by characters, even Jun Wu Xie rarely thinks about him. Usually, if she does think about him it’s her thinking of him as a big brother identity he’d handed to himself.

She doesn’t want to rely on him and he doesn’t want to ruin her plan of getting stronger on her own, yeah but… idk. I just don’t really get the romance. It’s there because at least he’s 1000% into her, but there’s not much communication between them and he’s too shrouded in mystery and won’t even admit (tho it’s for a reason) that he’s the ever elusive and considered dead Dark Emperor… or whatever. I don’t know. I just can’t support a male lead who isn’t exactly there but isn’t also not there. Cuz he’s there sometimes, but not always.


Personal Impression of BBM (and some grievances)

Ok so. I do like the story. Even though my negatives aren’t completely coherent because after reading 1,227 chapters in a row I just had to take a break and wouldn’t you know it. I forgot some of the plot and a lot of the characters and everything kinda turned my brain to mush. But it’s still an enjoyable read as you’re reading it. I’ve read a few novels like this so they kinda blend in after a while. I’ll blame it on that.

Apparently, I have more grievances than I thought but you won’t see them! huzzah!

As far as the story goes, It is somewhat cookie cutter at the beginning with the whole ‘home kingdom is horrible, must dethrone the emperor‘ and in some cases the over-doting uncle/grandpa combo. The main character has her own thoughts and doesn’t bend her knees to anyone (figuratively and almost literally). She remains tough on herself and (for the most part) tough on her companions and tougher than nails on her enemies. It’s not too difficult to read through as on web novel, right now all the chapters are free so you can just scroll down infinitely until you’re finished reading. Some comments are funny… I love the comments most of the time.

While Ring Spirits are considered ‘important’ they aren’t actually used much in combat… surprisingly. Unless the ring spirits are armor/weapons they don’t see the light of day very often other than Jun Wu Xie‘s friends. The double-headed bone snake, Rolly the yin-yang bear, and the butterflies have made an appearance that I know of. I almost forget that they are a thing…

I would have to say that it’s not in a top 10, but it’s also not in the lower range of the top 25. I might say it is in around… 15th place… if I had to give a number. But I’ve read more novels than I’ll review because I’m a corrupt woman, aha.

Would I read it again? Yeah, probably. I might read it again sometime. I do think that if the editing was freshened up on the series and if there was some coherent gender discrimination and name drops it would be way better. If you want to sink into something I’d give it a try even though I complain a lot about it because even if it’s like that, it can still make you curious and giggle a few times. I had to stop reading during the Qi War arc. It was the “oh no, dog’s master died and the dog is sad” kind of crying. I mean, A ring spirit who is struggling to stay with its master’s corpse because it believes in the master it chose??? How sad is that? So sad.


Since it is the holiday season I will not do the next two week’s Roll that Review. I will start up doing reviews again on the week of 7th of January. A lot of what I have been reading lately is quite lengthy and as a result, I haven’t gotten very far in their story. Because of that, I would like to try and get up to date, or if the story is completed, finish it and fix any opinions I have stated that are corrected later.

Just one simple action can make our day!