Reviews

Reviewing Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Strange the Dreamer.jpg

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around

I read this book like a few months ago, but it has never left my soul, and ultimately drove my expectations of YA novels UP. This was an amazing read, full of exquisite language and an amazing protagonist who was so beautifully immersed in his dreams. I only have one word for this novel: Mindblowing.

*This post may contain spoilers; honestly I don’t think it has any major spoilers.


51etZBZC7cL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Title: Strange the Dreamer
Author: Laini Taylor
Series: Strange the Dreamer Series (2 books)
Rating: ★★★
Re-readability: ★★★★★
——
The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

Welcome to Weep.


Thoughts:

This book was literally the most amazing book I have ever read in my entire life. Every single word was crafted to fit each and every sentence, and it all came together to create something taken from an immersive daydream that I never wanted to wake up from. The word choice seemed deceptively simple to me, but there was so much meaning packed behind every single sentence.

At first I was deterred by it, because it was a little heavy, and since I have to carry all my things around school, I really didn’t want to add that much extra wait to my backpack, but after reading the prologue again, I decided to borrow it from the library, which was probably the best decision I have ever made.

Why I Loved It:

Laini Taylor brings another world to life through her deliberate word choice. As per the title, the entire novel felt like a dream, that was brought to us through the eyes of the male lead, Lazlo Strange. Readers like me and you are powerful beings. We aren’t just interpreters, but initiators. I really connected a lot with Strange because I remember reading nonstop back when I could and his portrayal was just amazing.

“He wasn’t an alchemist, or a hero. He was a librarian, and a dreamer. He was a reader, and the unsung expert on a long-lost city no one cared a thing about.”

“He dreamed of deserts and great empty cities and imagined he could feel the minutes and hours of his life running through him, as though he were nothing but an hourglass of flesh and bone.”

What are dreams? Why are they so valuable? And how far will someone go to achieve them? This book was full of clashing emotions that tossed me around at every single turn. It had so many plot-twists and was so heart-wrenching. The plot twists were probably the most amazing part, rendering my heart weak from all the shocking developments.

“It was cruel. Like opening a birdcage to let the bird fly out, whilst all the while it’s tethered by the leg, and freedom is only an illusion.”

“She asked in a hesitant whisper, “Do you still think I’m a… A singularly unhorrible demon?”

“No,” he said smiling. “I think you’re magical, and brave, and exquisite. And…” His voice grew bashful. Only in a dream could he be so bold and speak such words. “I hope you’ll let me be in your story.”

All of the characters were relatable, and my heart went out to all of them. Even the antagonist was developed in a way that made me feel sympathetic towards her. The chemistry between the two leads was undeniable, and the sparks that were ignited between them were present almost immediately, even before they had started to get to know each other. I loved the way the protagonist embraced his values and the way in which he looked at the world. He was accepting amidst a world of hostility.

“He’d sooner die trying to hold the world on his shoulders than running away. Better always to run toward. And so he did.”

The Meh Moments:

There weren’t that many meh moments besides my little “peeve” of the new sensuality trend in novels. But frankly, the sensuality moments between the two main leads were weaved together with the story so beautifully, and developed at a good pace. And honestly, the word choice, was again, incredible. There were a few pages when two of the side characters got a little “antsy”, and what they did was questionable to me, but it didn’t really overshadow the entire novel.
“Love that sets forth the soul like springtime and ripens it like summer. Love as rarely exists in reality, as if a master alchemist has taken it and distilled out all the impurities, every petty disenchantment, every unworthy thought, into a perfect elixir, sweet and deep and all-consuming.”

Wrappin’ It Up:

Overall, the novel was absolute perfection. After reading it, I was literally mindblown by the ending, and was ecstatic to see that the last line of the book was “To be continued…” xD. Definitely DO NOT miss this novel! I can’t wait for the next book to see what new plot twists will be uncovered!

Recommendations:

The Reader by Traci Chee (will be reviewing this in the future!)

    • I don’t think any novel could compete with this novel in terms of diction and word choice, but The Reader comes close and its plot slowly untwists before you. Just when it seems cliche, another twist is added. It doesn’t really leave you guessing like Strange the Dreamer, but it was still a really good read! Romance was great~

The recommendations list will continue being updated as I discover more and more books! And if you guys know any books similar to this book, I can also add it to this list 🙂


Please let me know if there is anything I can do to improve on when reviewing these novels and talk to me in the comments if there’s a book you recommend or if there’s a book you would like me to review! 🙂 I will read/review YA novels or Chinese novels/translations!

Come join us on discord to talk about novelsssss!

9 thoughts on “Reviewing Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor”

  1. Thanks for the recommendation. Will keep this book in mind if I’m ever in the mood for something in this genre. I first came across Laini Taylor in secondary school with her book “lips touch, three times”. Even though I don’t remember the stories now, I still remember being entranced by her beautiful writing and the gorgeous, gorgeous illustrations inside. Perhaps you would love it as well.

    Like

    1. Omg Xing!! I’ve totally been following your translations! I will definitely check out Lips Touch,Three Times when I get a chance to read. Thanks for recommendations! I’m always up for pretty pictures haha.

      Like

      1. Oh really??! HAHA I’m shook since I just started not that long ago. Thanks to the ZhongWen chrome extension you recommended, I had a much easier time getting into Chinese novels. I have a bit of a problem with reading since I’ve never really had the need to read Chinese outside of school 😂 The extension was a godsend.

        Like

        1. I do! I created it a while back but I don’t use it. I still don’t really get how it works but we can add each other there if you want!

          Like

        2. Yes I did! I’ve accepted it too but I’m not sure if we’re in the same time zone to be online at the same time 😆 I’m in utc +8 and can usually go on at night.

          Like

Just one simple action can make our day!